Subscribe to our weekly newsletter X

Receive timely updates on funding options, policies, events and more.

Sustainable Homes


More from Shift

Headline sponsor 

SHIFT Awards 2017

November 30 | Plaisterers’ Hall


Finalists 2017

Sustainable Homes is delighted to announce the list of finalists for the SHIFT Awards 2017. The SHIFT Awards are the only awards open to the housing sector that focus on sustainability, celebrating exceptional projects that have an impact on the environment, the welfare of residents and the bottom line of organisations.

All category winners were announced on 30 November at the SHIFT Awards 2017 ceremony at Plaisterers’ Hall, London, attended by over 200 leading sustainability and housing professionals and key decision makers.

Thank you to our sponsors

Best small retrofit project

  • Hanover Housing Association – Aqua Quinta hot water generating system trial
  • Home Group – Shipcote Terrace non-decant hybrid solid wall insulation project
  • Hyde Housing Association – Brunswick Field
  • John Gilbert Architects – Hab-Lab/Case Study:Bluevale St
  • Octavia Housing – Monitoring the impact of retrofit
  • Q-Bot – Underfloor insulation with SprayBot
  • Sycous – Heat Network (Metering and Billing) Regulation Compliance

Best large scale retrofit

Sponsored by AgilityEco
  • ARP Energy Services – Extraction of fuel poverty in Barking & Dagenham
  • ECD Architects – Wilmcote House
  • EDF Energy – EDF Energy & Kensa Heat Pumps ECO partnership
  • Energy Agency – Energy Agency area based schemes
  • Octavia Housing – Victorian Street property retrofits
  • Thames Water – Smarter home visits

Best new build project

  • emh Group – Heathcott Road
  • H+H – Norton Farm by Bromsgrove District Housing Trust
  • Innerspace – Murray St Camden
  • Liverpool Mutual Homes – Naylorsfield Drive
  • Rockwool – Silken Park
  • AR Design Studio – The Crow’s Nest

Best resident engagement on sustainable living

Sponsored by Ecotricity
  • Local Energy Advice Programme (LEAP)
  • Clarion Housing Group – Energy saving for residents
  • ForViva – Big Energy Saving Network
  • North Wales Housing, Grwp Cynefin and Cartrefi Cymunedol Gwynedd – Community Energy Wardens Project
  • Optivo – Optivo’s Energy Advice Service
  • Southern Housing Group – Home Energy Advice Team (HEAT)

Best corporate sustainability project

  • Flagship Group
  • Southern Housing Group
  • Home group

Best sustainability team:

Sponsored by Soltherm
  • AgilityEco
  • Bristol City Council
  • Broadland Housing
  • Catalyst Housing
  • Poplar HARCA
  • Wealden District Council

Sustainability leader of the year

  • George Phillips, Energy Initiatives Officer, Colchester Borough Homes
  • Rebecca Hazlewood, CSR Manager, Flagship Group
  • Jeff Laidler, Head of Sustainability, London Borough of Enfield
  • Peter Sharman, Associate Director of Sustainability, Mulalley
  • Frankie Bowen, Sustainability Co-ordinator, Swan Housing Association

Best climate resilience project

Sponsored by 24 Housing
  • The Behaviouralist
  • Adler & Allan
  • AR Design Studio

Dragons’ Den – Best sustainability proposal

  • Switchee
  • Q-Bot
  • VRM Tech
  • Soltherm

Sustainable housing provider of the year

Sponsored by Hastoe
  • Broadland Housing
  • Catalyst Housing
  • Home Group
  • Swan Housing Association
  • Octavia Housing

Most improved ever SHIFT landlord

Sponsored by Mulalley
  • Hexagon Housing Association
  • Broadland Housing
  • Catalyst Housing
  • Hastoe
  • Optivo
  • Swan Housing Association




Connect with us. Join the conversation.


Get in Touch

Please get in contact with a member of the team for assistance.

Bookings, sponsorship opportunities, submissions and general enquiries:

Joana Malato
0208 973 0405

Begum Nash
0208 973 0387