Sustainable Homes board

Tony Burton, CBE - Executive Chair

Tony founded the national charity, Civic Voice, and is a trustee of Friends of the Earth. He is a leading advocate of neighbourhood planning and advises Lafarge Tarmac on sustainability. Tony is also a member of the UK Board of the Big Lottery Fund and Co-Chair of Defra’s Civil Society Advisory Board. He was previously Director of Strategy and External Affairs at the National Trust and Deputy Director at the Campaign to Protect Rural England. Tony was also a member of Richard Rogers’ influential Urban Task Force and a founder trustee of Heritage Alliance. He was awarded a CBE in the Jubilee Honours 2012.

Tony Burton, Executive Chair, Sustainable Homes

Diana Kingdon, FCIS MBA MIMgt - Director

Chief Executive of Greenoak Housing Association, one of only three winners nationally of the Housing Corporation’s Gold award for environmental sustainability. Also, Board Member: ACEVO, Hastoe Housing Association. and member of National Council: National Housing Federation.

Diana Kingdon, Sustainable Homes board member

Will Roberts, BSc ACA - Finance Director and Legal Company Secretary

Joined Hastoe in 2007 and was Head of Finance for three years before taking the position of Finance Director in 2010. Will has extensive experience in the Housing and Private Sector. He has held senior management positions at First Wessex Housing Group and Moat Housing Group. Prior to that he worked for a private property investment company, based in London, for five years. He has a degree in mathematics and economics from London University and qualified as a chartered accountant with the accountancy firm Deloitte.

Will Roberts, Sustainable Homes board member

Derek Bell - Director

Derek joined the board of Sustainable Homes as non-exec director in 2007. He runs his own technology innovation company based in UK and Sri Lanka. His breadth of experience in startups, technology innovation and digital marketing has assisted Sustainable Homes as it seeks to expand its business into new products and markets.

Derek Bell, Sustainable Homes board member

Benoit Witchalls, BEng (Hons) MProf - Director

Ben is a Civil Engineer who has spent much of his career developing and implementing risk and impact management processes for large infrastructure projects. His work is varied and includes large scale low carbon distributed energy projects as well as more traditional oil and gas exploration and production. Due to a particular passion for the built environment he has also founded a company specialising in low energy refurbishment within the built environment, notably to the Passivhaus EnerPHit standard.

Benoit (Ben) Witchalls, Sustainable Homes, board member

Claire Hierons - Head of Energy Saving Trust Foundation

Clare joined the Energy Saving Trust in February 2014 to head up the Trust’s Foundation. Having started her career in operational management and management consultancy, Clare has always been fascinated by the role of behaviour change in driving process and quality improvements. She first brought this passion to the sustainability sector through her role at the Carbon Trust where she worked in partnership with individual organisations and whole sectors to find ways of tackling climate change. Post Carbon Trust Clare became CEO of Carbon Leapfrog and in May 2013 successfully completed its merger with PURE the Clean Planet Trust to create Pure Leapfrog. As CEO of Carbon Leapfrog Clare was at the heart for the development of community energy in the UK and gained experience across a whole range of community initiatives. The merger with Pure brought into focus the need for mainstream finance in the community space and led to Leapfrog having a key role in defining the future of the community energy sector in the UK. Clare holds a degree in Engineering and an MBA from Crafield School of Management as well as qualifications in coaching and project management.